ImageSpotlight: Tri-Colored Heron

This tri-colored heron is easy to identify because it is the only dark colored heron with a white belly. I found this heron preying in the shallows at Estero Llano Grande State Park and as you can see in this photo, it was quite a successful fisherman. I had photographed in this location a few weeks earlier (see ImageSpotlight: Roseate Spoonbill) but my approach scared the birds out of photography range. This time, as I approached the pond I hid behind the cattails and draped a camouflage netting over my body. By doing this, I was able to slowly move from behind the cattails into an open area where I would be at a good working distance for my camera/lens combination. I made slow and deliberate steps so the birds would not spook. Some of them did move a little further away as I got settled into my spot; however, they quickly made their way back and I spent the next hour enjoying the show as the herons, ibis, and egrets foraged in the evening light.

Until next time, enjoy the great outdoors.–Kevin

Tri-Colored Heron In Breeding Plumage. Canon 1DMkII, 500/4.5 | f10 | ISO 400 | 1.4x extender.

Leave a Reply

