ImageSpotlight: Osprey

I’ve been a little MIA this past month as I’ve been spending long hours immersed in my dissertation research. However, I simply needed a break! This weekend I decided to get away from it all and spend an afternoon at Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge. The road to the refuge is worse than I remember and I’m quite sure I need to align my front end now but what an afternoon it was.

The Osprey have migrated to the Rio Grande Valley as this is part of their winter non-breeding grounds. Exclusively a fish eater, the Osprey feeds at mid-morning and late afternoon so I knew I might get lucky along the Laguna Madre coastline. I’d say I got a little more than lucky yesterday. The Osprey were actively feeding and I enjoyed an afternoon of great photos. Most of the Osprey were feeding at ground level and while I was happy to get those images, I found one bird feeding atop a yucca plant. While I have many shots of Osprey on that yucca, I wanted to get the bird in flight with the fish in its grasp. It was a long wait but once the Osprey was full, it flew from its yucca perch, still clinging to its supper.

Click on Image for a better view.

Osprey. Canon 7D | 500/4.5 | ISO 400 | f9 | 1/1000

It’s times like these that make me appreciate that old saying… Any time spent outdoors is better than the best time spent at the office.

Until next time, keep shooting. — KEVIN

4 thoughts on “ImageSpotlight: Osprey

Leave a Reply

