ImageSpotlight: Whitetail In Flight

As you have been noticing, I have been on a bit of a whitetail kick over the past month.  If you are wondering why I’m taking so many deer images lately, it’s pretty simple: a) it’s that time of year, and b) my whole interest in photography began with my passion for whitetail deer. So, when the weather changes in the fall and those first cold/cool fronts push through South Texas, I get an uncontrollable urge to don some camouflage and roam the brush country. In fact, I need some regular outdoor/nature time or quite simply, I’m not happy.

This weekend I was able to get out for a quick morning shoot and was rewarded with a first for me…a buck in full stride. So, was I just in the right spot at the right time when a buck came flying by? Or, was the shot planned? The correct answer is a little of both actually. Read below to see how the image was captured.

I was shooting with a friend on this particular morning when we noticed this buck in the open. After a quick discussion, we decided to go on a deer drive, sans rifle. I positioned myself at an appropriate distance for a Canon 7D and 500/4.5 lens. Using a crop factor camera and long lens allowed me to position myself far enough away without spooking the buck but close enough to fill most of the frame. Once I was setup, my buddy circled around and began the drive. It’s amazing how fast the buck hit full stride and how quickly he was gone, but before he disappeared in the brush, I had the image below.

Until next time, get out and keep shooting. — KEVIN

Click on the image for a larger view.

Whitetail In Full Stride. Canon 7d | 500/4.5 | f7.1 | ISO 400

Leave a Reply

