ImageSpotlight: Black-Necked Stilt

South Padre Island, Texas has simply been a hotbed of photographic activity over the past few weeks so I’m glad I live close enough to make the trip whenever I get a break in my schedule. On one of my Saturday morning outings a few weeks ago, the black-necked stilts were actively feeding. I like these birds but they are tough to expose properly. One always runs the risk of blowing out the highlights or losing details in the blacks. Those long pink legs, though, really stand out from the blue water. These birds are year-round residents at South Padre Island so if you ever find yourself visiting, be on the lookout for these shorebirds.

Until next time, Keep Shooting. — KEVIN

SPI__MG_6248_0179-20130120

Leave a Reply

