ImageSpotlight: Black-bellied Whistling Duck

Black-bellied Whistling Duck.

Black-bellied Whistling Duck.

I’ve been so busy packing up the house in anticipation of my move to the southeast that I haven’t had any real time to do photography. I spent about 30 minutes at Estero Llano Grande State Park a couple of weeks ago. Why 30 minutes? Well, I thought I’d stop by  and see if there was any activity worth coming back for on a more serious photo outing in the summer. There wasn’t! If you’ve kept up with my “where to photograph” series of articles, then you know I really like this park. However, on this particular day, the action was null and void with respect to birds so I saw no point in staying any longer. Before leaving though, I did manage this one image of a black-bellied whistling duck.

Until next time, stay hydrated this summer and keep shooting. — KEVIN

2 thoughts on “ImageSpotlight: Black-bellied Whistling Duck

  1. I’d never seen one of these before until two weeks or so ago. Four were hanging out in the canal behind the house. They fly by almost every evening on their way home, wherever that may be. Very pretty bird. Wishing you the best on your move and new job. Stay in touch. Kevin C.

    • Hey Kevin,

      These are pretty frequent around here. Estero Llano Grande State Park typically reliable, as well as most golf courses where there is a good sized pond/lake. Lots of birders come here and want to see that particular bird on their list. Will keep you posted once I get settled in.

Leave a Reply

