Photo Competitions

Hello everyone. I’ve been absent from the blog for awhile as I have moved from Texas to the East Coast. The move and adjusting to a new location has been a busy time for me and I simply have had little time for other things. However, prior to leaving Texas, I entered an online photo competition and had a good showing, which is the subject of this post.

The last time I seriously competed in a photo competition was 2008, when I entered and placed 2nd in the Valley Land Fund Wildlife Photo Contest. I quit competing after that contest because I had to focus my attention on completing my doctoral studies. However, with the PhD behind me, I decided to try my hand at photo competitions again. I entered Karl Taylor’s online competition which was themed “Yellow”. To compete, one had to submit an entry that matched the theme of the contest. The subject could be anything the photographer desired. I decided to enter a Yellow flower, knowing that many yellow flowers would likely be submitted. To make the Top 25, it would need to be a special flower image, and that would come down to one very important thing….light! The link to the video above gives excellent critique of images and is worth watching.

So why enter a photo competition? From my perspective photo competitions give direction to your photography and challenge you to come up with creative ways to capture a given subject. That alone is worth entering, but competitions can also expand our abilities and diversify our portfolios. If that’s not enough, success in a competition gives us some feedback about the quality of our images. Lastly, and depending on the type of contest entered, there is the opportunity to meet new photography friends. I have been fortunate enough to experience all of these benefits over the years and look forward to future photo competitions. Here’s wishing you success with your photography endeavors.

Until next time, good light and keep shooting. — KEVIN

4 thoughts on “Photo Competitions

  1. Hey Kevin,
    This is Valerie, James’ friend that use to live in Texas and am now back in Ga. I heard that you are now living in this great state. Hope the move wasn’t too traumatizing to you and your family.
    I have enjoyed looking at your photos on here and I know that you will be adding some gorgeous Georgia wildlife to your portfolio. Best of luck to you and your family!

    • Hey Valerie. Good to hear from you. Yes, I am now in Peach Country. Been enjoying it so far. Have not got out to photograph anything as I’m trying to get settled in both the home and work, but soon enough I’ll venture to see the photo ops available. Let me know if you have any hotspots you think I should visit.

      • Cumberland island. Not too far from you. Can only get there by boat. Kingsland has a ferry that goes over several times a day. Check it out. It has wooded areas, beaches, old ruins. Very neat place. Check out sapelo island as well. I’ve never been there but would love to go sometime. As I think of places I will try to let you know.

Leave a Reply

