ImageSpotlight: Indigo Bunting

Indigo Bunting.  Canon 7D | 500/4.5 | f8 | ISO 200

Indigo Bunting. Canon 7D | 500/4.5 | f8 | ISO 200

I’ve been after this bird for a number of years. When I lived in South Texas, these birds migrated through the area in the winter time. Now that I am in Georgia, the indigo bunting spends its summer months in the area. A few weeks ago I noticed a bird at my feeder that I had never seen on my property. It turned out to be the rose-breasted grosbeak, which migrates through the area. I setup hoping to get their photograph but they have since moved further north in their range. To my surprise, this beautiful blue bird visited my feeder instead. I was able to capture a documentation image but nothing I was excited about. Given that this is an afternoon feeder, the past two weekend afternoons has found me out back hoping for the bunting to land on my perch while the light was good. With the tall pines casting long shadows, I have a limited time before the perch is in the shadow and the background lit by the sun. After a few weekend attempts, I finally got a cooperative bunting to land where I wanted at the hour I wanted. And finally, an old nemesis was now a part of my portfolio. The summer has only begun so I hope to get many more but it sure feels good to have captured the image shared in this post.

Until next time, good light and keep shooting. –KEVIN

3 thoughts on “ImageSpotlight: Indigo Bunting

    • The email address I had did not go through so I’ll post a reply here.

      Hello Rosie,

      I got your inquiry through my WordPress blog post about the indigo bunting
      I posted. All of my images are available for sale and I would be happy to
      sell one of the indigo bunting you liked. Prices vary according to size but
      below are three commonly sold print sizes. If you want a different dimension let me know and I can quote you a price. All of my images are printed in a professional lab, color corrected, and printed on archival
      paper to ensure longevity. They are also mounted to a 3/16″ foam board to
      assure that they lay flat against a glass when framed. If you have any
      questions, please let me know. Thanks.

      Best regards,
      Kevin J. Hurt

      8×12 = $25
      12×16 = $55
      16×24 = $105

Leave a Reply

